S Cephei Training Week 2020

This year's REXUS/BEXUS Student Training Week took place from February 10th to 14th at the Esrange Space Center in the far north of Sweden, witch we, members of the S Cephei Team, participated. Two weeks before was the deadline of the first version of the SED (Student Experiment Documentation) in which we presented a draft of our experiment. Freed from the burden of the deadline, the anticipation of the Training Week for the team members Alexander, Robin, David and Felix began.

The journey to Esrange on February 09th was by plane from Dresden via Frankfurt (Picture 1) and Stockholm to Kiruna. Luckily, we just made it out of Frankfurt before the storm Sabine hit and the airport was closed. From Frankfurt, a lot of other teams and employees of the organizing structures accompanied us already. The flight over the North Sea had the expected stomach-churning effect.

Picture 1: Intermediate stop at Frankfurt am Main Airport; Picture: David Conrad

Arriving in Kiruna, a transfer service drove us the last 40 km to Esrange, where we got our room keys and security passes at the entrance and then finally, after a short midnight snack, fell asleep.

For the much too short night we were rewarded by the culinary pleasure of a heavenly breakfast. At this point I would like to thank the kitchen team, who delighted us 3 times a day with the best warm meals, on behalf of everybody. Day 1 of the Training Week started with a few introductory words on safety and rules of conduct, before we were introduced to some important topics, including Systems Engineering, Requirements and REXUS Flight Mechanics. These lectures were interrupted by a couple of coffee breaks, where we had the chance to exchange ideas with the other teams and to meet some people from the Selection Workshop. In addition, there were presentations of all REXUS teams, where the experiment and possible influences on the experiments of the other teams were roughly discussed.

The 2nd day started after an obligatory morning meeting with a round trip over the Esrange area. We were shown the local museum (Picture 2), where some of the defining moments of the Esrange Space Center are exhibited (highly recommended!).

Picture 2: Robin with a Nose Cone; Picture: Felix Scharnhölz

Afterwards, we went to the Balloon Pad, where we witnessed the launch of a small altitude research balloon, before we were shown the preparation halls for the REXUS rockets for motor and payload integration. At last, we went to the launch tower of the MEXUS rockets (Picture 3) and on our way back, we passed the REXUS Launcher.

Picture 3: Upwards view from the launch position of a MEXUS rocket; Picture: Felix Scharnhölz

It was still quite warm with -8 °C for a February day in Esrange, but after this spectacular roundtrip our fingers and feet were happy about the warmth in the Dome, where the lectures continued afterwards. Lectures on BEXUS systems were on the schedule, but in the afternoon we had our PDR, which we had been preparing for since the SED deadline. The board consisted of experts from a variety of disciplines and institutions. Members of the ZARM (Zentrum für angewandte Raumfahrttechnologie und Mikrogravitation) and ESA (European Space Agency), as well as MORABA (Mobile Raketen Basis) asked questions after a 20-minute presentation from us and explained weaknesses in our experiment design and our development schedule. All in all, the PDR was a success and we were able to take a lot of input for further experiment development. In the evening there was a teambuilding session, where we built a Lego model of a space transporter under certain rules (Picture 4). Ten teams were put together, which then competed against each other. A great opportunity to get to know other team members a little bit closer and to build new bonds.

Picture 4: Teambuilding Session on Tuesday; Picture: SSC Staff

Now that we had the PDR behind us, we could look forward to the rest of the week in a more relaxed manner. On Wednesday we had some subsystem specific topics on the agenda. Among other things we were introduced to possibilities and approaches to solve common problems in the design of the flight software and to improve the thermal experiment design. Many helpful tips, especially on open source software, will help us to improve our experiment. In the afternoon, project and risk management were on the agenda. After all, a space project consists not only of calculations and design, but also of an organizational part.

In this respect we continued with Outreach on day 4. An important part of the RX/BX projects is that teams try to find partners in the industry, in order to enable the development of the not always cheap projects and to guarantee the financing besides the help from the DLR through ZARM. In the afternoon there was another important appointment on the agenda, the "Ask the experts" session. Here we were able to address questions that were still open after the lectures or questions that had arisen from the lectures to a number of experts from the various disciplines. Thanks to their commitment the last problems were solved.

The last day was mainly devoted to organizational matters concerning the upcoming tests and the final mission campaign in March 2021, with the Critical Design Review scheduled for June, by which time the experiment design must be finalized. This will be followed by the Integration Progress Review at the end of August, before the system tests (Vibration test at ZARM, Benchtest at MORABA and finally the Spin & Balance test in Esrange) complete the qualification phase. In the afternoon we visited Kiruna and the Ice-Hotel (Picture 5) nearby. With a great farewell dinner (pulled pork of reindeer), where everybody had a lot of fun, the last days were reflected and with a final visit in the sauna the training week came to an end.

Picture 5: View over the facilities of the Ice-Hotel; Picture: Felix Scharnhölz

Departure started very early in the morning of Saturday. Two buses brought us back to Kiruna to the airport (Picture 6), from where we went via Stockholm and Munich back to Dresden. Most of the teams were said goodbye to in Stockholm and the last German teams left us in Munich.

Picture 6: Boarding in Kiruna; Picture: Felix Scharnhölz

Back in Dresden we were looking forward to our beds to catch up on the sleep we missed. The next few days were spent processing all the information. The participation in the Training Week was a great experience, for us participants and for the entire team.

We would like to thank everyone who made the Training Week possible, who patiently answered our questions and who provided us with a lot of input for the upcoming CDR.

Text: Felix Scharnhölz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

en_USEnglish
de_DEDeutsch en_USEnglish

S Cephei Training Week 2020

Die diesjährige REXUS/BEXUS Student Trainings Week fand vom 10. bis zum 14. Februar im Esrange Space Center im hohen Norden Schwedens statt, an der auch wir, Mitglieder des S Cephei Teams, teilgenommen haben. Zwei Wochen vorher war die Abgabefrist der ersten Version des SEDs (Student Experiment Documentation), in dem wir einen Entwurf unseres Experimentes vorgestellt haben. Befreit von der Last der Deadline, begann die Vorfreude auf die Trainings Week für die Teammitglieder Alexander, Robin, David und Felix.

Die Anreise am 09. Februar erfolgte von Dresden mit dem Flugzeug über Frankfurt und Stockholm nach Kiruna. Glücklicherweise schafften wir es gerade noch vor dem Sturmtief Sabine aus Frankfurt raus, bevor der Flughafen geschlossen wurde. Ab Frankfurt begleiteten uns bereits eine Vielzahl anderer Teams und Mitarbeiter der organisierenden Strukturen. Der Flug über die Nordsee hatte dann auch den zu erwartenden magen-aufwühlenden Effekt.

Bild 1: Zwischenlandung auf dem Flughafen Frankfurt am Main; Bild: David Conrad

In Kiruna angekommen, brachte uns ein Transferservice die letzten 40 km bis nach Esrange, wo wir unsere Zimmerschlüssel und Sicherheitsausweise am Geländeeingang bekamen und schließlich, nach einem kurzen Mitternachtssnack, erschöpft in die Betten fielen.

Für die viel zu kurze Nacht wurden wir durch den kulinarischen Genuss eines himmlischen Frühstücks entlohnt. An dieser Stelle möchte ich mich im Namen aller beim Küchenteam bedanken, das uns 3-mal am Tag mit den besten warmen Mahlzeiten beglückt hat. Tag 1 der Trainings Week ging los mit ein paar einleitenden Worten zu Sicherheit und Verhaltensregeln, bevor uns schließlich einige wichtige Themen, unter anderem in den Bereichen Systems Engineering, Requirements und REXUS Flight Mechanics nähergebracht wurden. Unterbrochen wurden diese Vorlesungen von ein paar Kaffeepausen, bei denen wir uns mit den anderen Teams austauschen konnten und Bekannte aus dem Selection Workshop wiedergetroffen haben. Hinzu kamen Vorstellungspräsentationen aller REXUS Teams, bei denen grob das Experiment und mögliche Einflüsse auf die Experimente der anderen Teams in der jeweiligen Payload angesprochen wurden.

Der 2. Tag begann nach einem obligatorischen Morgenmeeting mit einem Roundtrip über das Esrange Gelände. Uns wurde das örtliche Museum gezeigt (Bild 2), in dem einige prägende Momente des Esrange Space Center ausgestellt sind (sehr empfehlenswert!).

Bild 2: Robin mit einem Nose Cone; Bild: Felix Scharnhölz

Anschließend ging es zum Ballon Pad, wo wir den Start eines kleinen Höhenforschungsballons erleben durften, ehe uns die Vorbereitungshallen für die REXUS Raketen zur Motor- und Payloadintegration gezeigt wurden. Abschließend besuchten wir den Launchtower der MEXUS Raketen (Bild 3). Auf unserem Rückweg kamen wir dann noch am REXUS Launcher vorbei.

Bild 3: Blick aus der Startposition einer Mexus Rakete nach oben; Bild: Felix Scharnhölz

Es waren an diesem Tag zwar mit -8 °C noch recht warm für einen Februartag in Esrange, aber nichtsdestotrotz freuten sich unsere Finger und Füße nach diesem spektakulären Roundtrip über die Wärme im Dome, der größten Halle auf dem Esrange Gelände, wo die Vorlesungen im Anschluss weitergingen. Es standen Vorlesungen über ein paar BEXUS Systeme auf dem Plan, jedoch hatten wir ab dem Nachmittag unser PDR, auf das wir uns seit der SED Abgabe vorbereitet hatten. Das Board bestand aus Experten zahlreicher Fachrichtungen und Einrichtungen. Mitglieder des ZARMS (Zentrum für angewandte Raumfahrttechnologie und Mikrogravitation) und der ESA (European Space Agency), sowie der MORABA (Mobile Raketenbasis) stellten nach einem 20-minütigen Vortrag unsererseits Fragen und erklärten uns Schwachstellen in unserem Experimentdesign und dem Zeitplan für den Entwicklungsablauf. Insgesamt war das PDR ein voller Erfolg und wir konnten sehr viel Input für die weitere Experimententwicklung mitnehmen. Abends wurde eine Teambuilding Session veranstaltet, bei der es darum ging unter bestimmten Regeln ein Legomodell eines Raumtransporters nachzubauen. (Bild 4) Dabei wurden 10 Teams zusammengestellt, die dann gegeneinander antraten. Eine super Möglichkeit andere Teammitglieder mal ein wenig näher kennenzulernen und neue Bande zu knüpfen.

Bild 4: Teambuilding Session am Dienstag; Bild: SSC Staff

Nachdem wir das PDR nun hinter uns hatten, konnten wir dem Rest der Woche entspannter entgegensehen. Am Mittwoch standen einige subsystem-spezifische Themen auf dem Plan. Unter anderem wurden uns Möglichkeiten und Herangehensweisen nähergebracht, um häufige Probleme im Design der Flight Software zu lösen und das thermale Experimentdesign zu verbessern. Viele hilfreiche Tipps, insbesondere zu Open Source Software, werden uns helfen unser Experiment zu verbessern. Nachmittags standen Projekt- und Risikomanagement auf dem Plan, schließlich besteht ein Raumfahrtprojekt nicht nur aus Berechnungen und Design, sondern auch aus einem organisatorischen Part.

In diesem Sinne ging es am 4. Tag auch weiter mit dem Thema Outreach. Ein wichtiger Bestandteil der RX/BX Projekte ist, dass Teams versuchen Partner in der Industrie und Forschung zu gewinnen, um die Umsetzung der nicht immer günstigen Projekte zu ermöglichen und die Finanzierung neben der Hilfe vom DLR durch das ZARM, zu gewährleisten. Nachmittags stand noch ein wichtiger Termin auf der Agenda, es ging in die „Ask the experts“ – Session. Dabei konnten wir Fragen, die nach den Vorlesungen noch offen waren oder Fragen, die sich durch die Vorlesungen ergeben hatten, an eine Reihe von Experten aus den unterschiedlichen Disziplinen richten. Durch deren hilfsbereites Engagement konnten auch letzte Probleme vorläufig aus dem Weg geräumt werden.

Am letzten Tag ging es hauptsächlich um Organisatorisches zu den kommenden Tests und der abschließenden Missionskampagne im März 2021. Im Juni steht das Critical Design Review auf dem Plan, bis zu dem das Experimentdesign finalisiert sein muss. Anschließend findet das Integration Progress Review Ende August statt, bevor die Systemtests (Vibrationstest beim ZARM, Benchtest bei der MORABA und abschließend der Spin & Balancetest in Esrange) die Qualifikationsphase abschließen. Am Nachmittag besuchten wir Kiruna und das Ice-Hotel (Bild 5) in der Nähe. Mit einem großartigen Farewell Dinner (Pulled Pork vom Rentier), bei dem alle viel Spaß hatten und in gelöster Stimmung die letzten Tagen Revue passieren ließen, und einem letzten Saunabesuch, ging die Trainings Week zu Ende.

Bild 5: Blick über die Anlagen des Ice-Hotels; Bild: Felix Scharnhölz

Die Abreise startete am Samstag sehr früh am Morgen. Zwei Busse brachten uns wieder nach Kiruna zum Flughafen (Bild 6), von wo es über Stockholm und München zurück nach Dresden ging. Die meisten Teams verabschiedeten wir in Stockholm und die letzten deutschen Teams verließen wir in München.

Bild 6: Boarding in Kiruna; Bild: Felix Scharnhölz

Wieder in Dresden angekommen, freuten wir uns erstmal auf unsere Betten, um den verpassten Schlaf nachzuholen. Die nächsten Tage nahm erstmal das Nachbereiten der vielen Informationen in Anspruch. Die Teilnahme an der Trainings Week war für uns Teilnehmende und insgesamt für das Team eine großartige Erfahrung.

Wir möchten uns sehr herzlich bei allen bedanken, die die Trainings Week ermöglicht, unsere Fragen geduldig beantwortet und uns mit viel Input fürs kommende CDR gerüstet haben.

Text: Felix Scharnhölz

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch